Trust Logo


Primary Academy

Trust Logo


Primary Academy

Interactive bar

Google Services

Trust Logo



At Fleetdown Primary, our pupil's wellbeing is of the upmost importance. We have an accredited Nurture provision and apply Nurture principles across the school.

We have trained Draw and Talk Practitioners in addition to a trained ELSA Practitioner and a qualified counsellor. We have accredited Nurture Practitioners running award winning groups across both Key stages in 2 beautifully refurbished rooms. We have a positive environment where mistakes are seen as a normal part of learning and an opportunity. Staff also offer all children time to communicate and listen to their concerns.


We have lunchtime Nurture available to Years 1 to 6.  We have chatterboxes, overseen by the Family Liaison Officer (more information below), our Pirate Ship staff run Deaf Healthy Minds lessons. Each classroom has a wellbeing area or "cosy corner" with calming sensory boxes to use.  There are plants in the classroom and photos of the children to create a homely environment. 


We have carried out research on the use of massage therapy to reduce pupil anxiety (see below).


Each class now has a Chatterbox where they can put their name if they need to speak to an adult.  These are checked every day and we aim to respond to the children within 24 hours.  So far, the chatterboxes have proved incredibly popular and have enabled us to provide extra support for those children that need it as well as hear about some things that the children have enjoyed both in and out of school. 


It is important not to neglect our mental health. Kooth is an online counselling service that is available for all children in Dartford.  Here are some resources that explain more about it and how to access the support. 

We celebrated Children's Mental Health week 6th- 10th February 2023.

One of the events was a competition for children to design a logo for Children's Mental Health Week at Fleetdown. We are very excited to announce that the 2 main winners are.........


Maame Yaa  Year 5    and     Ella-Rose Moreno Year 2


Prizes also go to:

Ryan Band - Year 6

Sophia Brown - Year 2

Samuel Kingwell - Year 2

Lottie Watkins Year 4 

Rosie-May Reynolds Year 3


Congratulations everyone, we were so proud of your efforts!


Together Everyone Achieves More